Description: AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for researchers, academics, and students. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. Content such as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine are all included.
Publisher database: McGraw-Hill
Content Type: Online Reference Works and eBooks
Subject Areas: Engineering | Coverage: Collection
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is an online resource that allows users to explore pharmacy reference materials and textbooks to search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements, drug therapy cases, exam questions and design care plans
Publisher database: McGraw-Hill
Content Type: Online Reference Works and eBooks
Subject Areas: Pharmacy | Coverage: Collection
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. AccessScience offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
Publisher database: McGraw-Hill
Content Type: Articles written by well-known scientists in their fields of expertise
Subject Areas: Science | Agriculture | Astronomy | Biology | Medicine | Botany | Chemistry | Information Communication Technology | Earth Science | Engineering | Environmental Science | Biotechnology | Health Science | Mathematics | Physics | Zoology | Coverage: Collection
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: ACS journals cover multidisciplinary research at the interface of chemistry and other related fields. ACS publish over 50 of the most highly cited journals in the sciences.
Publisher database: American Chemical Society
Content Type: Full-text Publisher Journals
Subject Areas: Chemistry | Coverage: Volume 1, Issue 1 – Current
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: ACM hosts the computing industry's leading literature, containing journals, magazines, conference papers and courses. The ACM Digital Library is a full-text database that includes the complete collection of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, covering the fields of computing and information technology. This is an Open Access agreement and academics and researchers wishing to publish in ACM journals, may do so free of charge
Publisher database: Association for Computing Machinery
Content Type: Full-text | Aggregator
Source Type: Online Journals | Online Conference Papers
Subject Areas: Information Communication Technology | Engineering | Coverage: ACM Literature: Volume 1, Issue 1 | Aggregator Literature: Depending on the publisher
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Books In Print® is the leading bibliographic database for publishers, retailers and libraries around the world. From the enriched metadata that is supplied by publishers, Books In Print provides a valuable resource for retailers in the process of making smart purchasing decision
Publisher database: ProQuest
Content Type: Bibliographic database | Aggregator
Subject Areas: Multi-Disciplinary, Literature
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: CAB Abstracts (1973 to Present), produced by CABI Publishing, covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1973
Database Type: Platform | Ebscohost
Content Type: Electronic Journal Articles | Electronic Books
Subject Areas: applied life sciences | agriculture | forestry | human nutrition | veterinary medicine and the environment | List of Products: Online Journal Collection | Literature Collection Online | Online eBooks
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Cambridge University Press Core hosts all publications published by the Cambridge University Press
Database Type: Platform | Cambridge University Press
Content Type: Electronic Journal Articles | Electronic Books
Subject Areas: Multi-Disciplinary | List of Products: Online Journal Collection | Literature Collection Online | Online eBooks
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: ChemSpider is an open source chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures.
Database Type: Open Source aggregator - Royal Society of Chemistry
Content Type: Chemical structures
Subject Areas:Chemistry | Coverage: Open Access
Books have been catalogued and is searchable via the TUT LIS catalogue
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Credo Online Reference provide access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works, covering every major subject from Accounting, Science, and Technology, Engineering to the Arts
Database Type: Aggregator - Credo Reference Online
Content Type: Online Reference Works | Electronic Books
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: Collection
Books have been catalogued and is searchable via the TUT LIS catalogue
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: EbscoHost is an aggregator that hosts various databases on one single platform.
List of Databases
Database Type: Platform | Aggregator - EbscoHost
Content Type: Electronic Journals | Abstracting & Indexing | Reference Works | Electronic Books
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: Collection
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
-
AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.Types of Resources: Standards, Patents, Patient Drug Information Leaflets
-
Art & Architecture Source
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.Database type: Aggregator with Selected Full Text
Resource Types: Journals, eBooks, Images
-
eBook Academic Collection
A collection of more than 166,000 eBooks, apart from the individual titles purchased. -
Business Source Premier
A multi-disciplinary database within the business environment that provide access to more than 2,300 full text journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.Content Type: Business Reports | Statistics
Subject Areas: Business Marketing | Management | Management Information Systems | Accounting | Finance | Economics
Coverage: Selected Full Text from 1886 - current
Depending on contributing publishers - Cited references from 1998
Contains embargoes
-
ERIC
Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million bibliographical records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.Subject Areas: Education
Content Type: Bibliographical records
-
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
STA is produced by International Food Information Service (IFIS) and it is an important bibliographic database on food science, food technology and nutrition, it includes more than 1.150,000 bibliographic record from 1969 to presentSubject Areas: Food Science | Food Technology and Nutrition
Content Type: Bibliographical records
-
The collection consists of scholarly and governmental journal titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Subject Areas: Global warming | Green Buildings | Pollution | Sustainable Agriculture | Renewable Energy | Recycling
-
GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.
Database Type: Bibliographic Database
Resource Type: Bibliographic Records
-
Health Source - Consumer Edition Provides access to nearly 80 full-text consumer health information magazines.
Subject Areas: Health science | Medical science | Food science | Nutrition | Sports medicine
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Coverage: Nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Content Type: Drug guide
Subject Areas: Nursing | Medicine
-
Hospitality & Tourism Complete< Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Coverage: 1965 to present
Database Type: Aggregator with Selected Full Text
Resource Types: Journals, Periodicals, Company & Country Reports, eBooks
-
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.Subject Areas: Library Science | Information Science
Coverage: Selectively from 1960 - Current
-
MasterFile
A multidisciplinary database that provides full text of nearly 1,700 general reference works, including an image collection of over 500,000 photos, maps and flags and a variety of general interest works, dating back as far as 1975.Content Type: Reference works | Images
Coverage: 1975 - Current
-
MEDLINE with Full Text
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.Database Type: Bibliographic Database with Selected Full Text
Resource Types: Journals
-
Modern Language Association (MLA)
-
MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.Database Type: Directory
Types of Resources: Journals & Periodicals
-
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliographyType of Database: Bibliography with Selected Full Text
Coverage: Early 20th Century to Present
Types of Resources: Journals and eBooks
-
MLA Directory of Periodicals
-
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also providedType of Database: Aggregator with Full Text
Types of Resources: International Newspapers
-
OpenDissertations
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.Type of Database: Repository with Selected Full Text
Types of Resources: Dissertations & Theses
-
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.Type of Database: Aggregator with Full Text
Types of Resources: USA based Regional Business Publications
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.Coverage: 1930 to Present
Type of Database: Aggregator with Full Text
Types of Resources: Journals
Description: Emerald provides access to over 300 full-text e-journals from 24 management disciplines, including accounting and finance, built environment, enterprise and innovation, human resources, information and knowledge management, logistics, marketing, tourism, and more.
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
List of Databases
-
Emerald eJournal Premier Collection
Coverage: Selected Full Text from 1997 - Current
Number of Journal Titles: 324
-
Emerald Business, Management and Economics eBook Series Collection Backlist Library
Number of eBook Series: 98
Number of eBooks: 1086
-
Emerald Social Sciences eBook Series Collection Backlist Library
Number of eBook Series: 52
Number of eBooks: 547
Description:A Global strategic intelligence research database providing local and international statistics, reports and ongoing comment. Passport offers Industry-standard data and analysis and multi-country coverage of products, services, companies, channels, consumers, economics, demographics, social trends. Passport provides the user the ability to track existing and future opportunities in order to shape projects and support the decision-making of all functions within an organisation. It allows the user to build a complete picture of the whole operating environment and is a well-recognised source on market shape and performance.
Database Type: Platform | Euromonitor International
Content Type: Statistics | Reports | Analysis
Subject Areas: Business | Events Management | Hospitality | International Business | Journalism | Leisure | Marketing | Supply Chain Management | Coverage:
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Gartner, Inc. is one of the world’s leading information technology research and advisory company. Gartner deliver the technology-related insight necessary for clients to make the right decisions.
Database Type: Platform | Gartner Inc.
Content Type: Articles | Statistics | Reports | Analysis
Subject Areas: Information Communication Technology | Business Management | Coverage: Tertiary Education Subset
Access: On- & Off-Campus
Access Details: Login with your TUT active directory access | Username: or | Password: own tut password
Description: The GeoRef database is a bibliographic database that indexes scientific literature in the geosciences, including geology.Coverage ranges from 1666 to the present for North American literature, and 1933 to the present for the rest of the world. It currently contains more than 2.8 million references
Database Type: Publisher Database
Content Type: Index and abstracts to articles | Books | Maps | Reports | Conference Papers | Theses and Dissertations
Subject Areas: Geology | Earth Sciences | Coverage: 1785 - Current
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: ICE Publishing produces a wide range of books and journals sharing expert advice, leading research and best practice in civil engineering and construction
Publisher database: Institute of Civil Engineering (ICE)
Content Type: Electronic Journals | Conference Papers
Subject Areas: civil engineering | Construction | Coverage: Science Journals Collection: Volume 1, Issue 1 to current
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: The IEEE Xplore provide access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. The content in IEEE Xplore comprises 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings and more than 3,400 technical standards.
Publisher database: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Content Type: Electronic Journals | Conference Papers
Subject Areas: Electronic Engineering | Electrical Engineering | Robotics | Nano-technology | Information Communication Technology | Coverage: Journal articles: Volume 1, Issue 1
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: The Institute of Physics (IOP) is a scientific charity devoted to increase the practice, understanding and application of physics. IOP Science Extra provides access to over 70 scholarly journals, right back to 1874.
Publisher database: Institute of Physics
Content Type: Electronic Journals | Conference Papers
Subject Areas: Physics | Biomedical engineering | Condensed matter | Graphene Materials | Nanotechnology | Quantum Information | Astronomic Semiconductors | Astrophysics | Biological physics | Chemistry | Engineering | Environment | Mathematics | Medical physics | Coverage: Volume 1, Issue 1
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: JSTOR is a not–for–profit aggregator that provide content in a digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content.
Database Type: Database Aggregator | JSTOR
Content Type: Electronic Journals
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: Depending on contributing publishers
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Knovel is an engineering information solution that delivers answers to technical questions by providing best practice insights, hundreds of validated equations, materials and substances data, and access to full text of 8000+ important Engineering titles, curated from over 140+ trusted publisher & providers through a unified platform with powerful search and analytical tools.
Database Type: Aggregator | Elsevier
Content Type: Electronic Books | Validated Equations | Reference Works | Journal Articles | Analytical Tools
Subject Areas: Engineering | Coverage: Collection
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: LexisNexis hosts a variety books, databases and products, mostly in the Accounting, Legislative, Business and Corporate Governance arena
Database Type: Platform | Publisher Database
Content Type: Includes but not limited to: Legislation | Reports | Gazettes | Electronic Books | Reference Works | Journal Articles
Subject Areas: Include but not limited to: Accounting | Legislation | Business | Finance | Corporate & Commercial
Access: On- & Off-Campus | Off-Campus
Staff & students may request access codes from their library
Description: Medline with Full-text is the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature and includes full-text in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, and more. The database includes full text for over 1,470 journals and citations for over 4,800 biomedical journals
Database Type: Indexing & Abstracting | Selected Full-Text | Aggregator: EbscoHost
Content Type: Indexing & Abstracting
Subject Areas: Biomedicine | Pre-Clinical Sciences | Behavioral Sciences | Bioengineering | Health Policy Development | Life Sciences | Communication Disorders | Population Biology | and Reproductive Biology. | Coverage: Full-text: 1965 - Present; Abstracts: 1949 - Present
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.
Database Type: Indexing & Abstracting | Selected Full-Text | Aggregator: EbscoHost
Content Type: Indexing & Abstracting | Journal articles | Series | Monographs | Dissertations | Bibliographies | Proceedings
Subject Areas: English Language and Literature | Film Studies | French Language and Literature | Germanic Studies | Italian Studies | Jewish Studies | Linguistics | Persian Studies | Philosophy | Religion | Second Language Acquisition | Slavic Languages and Literature | Spanish Language and Literature | Theatre | Women's Studies | Coverage: 1926 - Present
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: These databases contributes to knowledge generation for the support and promotion of research development. They facilitate access to ensure the utilisation of research results, technology and innovation.
Content Type: Abstracting & Indexing | Bibliographic Records | Selected Full-Text
Subject Areas: South African Research Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: Collection
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: OCLC is a global library cooperative that provides shared technology services, original research and community programs for its membership and the library community at large.
Database Type: Platform | OCLC
Content Type: Bibliographic Databases
List of Products: WorldCat Dissertations | ArticleFirst | PapersFirst | Proceedings | WorldCat & WorldCat Dissertations | PapersFirst & ProceedingsFirst
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage:
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience, especially in the fields of Arts, Humanities, Law, Medicine, Health, Science, Mathematics and Social Sciences
Database Type: Publisher Database | Oxford University Press
Content Type: Journal articles | Abstracting & Indexing
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: Full text: 1999 – Current | Abstracting & Indexing | Volume 1, Issue 1
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description:PressReader delivers the world's newspapers and magazines to millions of readers the way they want to receive them - in print, online, or on their mobile device, tablet or eReader - wherever they live, travel, work or play - [Please use Chrome or Firefox for best experience]
Database Type: Platform | Aggregator
Content Type: Newspapers
List of Products:
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: 3 Months Backfile
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Established in 1991, Primal Pictures create and publish the worlds most medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy based on imaging data
Database Type: Platform | 3D Interactive Images & Text
Content Type: Eletronic Reference Module
Subject Areas: Anantomy | Physiology | Coverage: 3D Reference work
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Ebrary provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information. The e-book available on ebrary has been purchased by the library and therefore not all the books are fulltext
Database Type: Platform | Publisher Database: Proquest
Content Type: Journals | News | Dissertations & Working papers
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: 3D Reference work
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: "The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 44 peer-reviewed journals, around 2,000 book titles and a collection of online databases and literature updating services
Database Type: Platform | Publisher Database
Content Type: Electronic Books | Databases | Journals
Subject Areas: Biology | Biophysics | Energy & Environment | Engineering | Medicine and Physics
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: The SABS (South African Bureau of Standards) holds copyright on all SABS standards and related documents, unless specific exemption has been granted, no copying of SABS standards is permitted, including the rewriting of a document by electronic or mechanical means.
Database Type: Full-Text SABS Standards
Content Type: Patents | Standards
Subject Areas: South African National Standards | Multi-disciplinary
Access: On-Campus/Off-Campus
NB: Use only your TUT Official email address
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: The new Sabinet Discover platform must only be used for the reference/bibliographic databases namely:
-
SA Cat Plus
A union catalogue of items held by the Southern African libraries and is updated daily.
Database Type: Bibliographic Database
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
-
SANB
TAll material published in South Africa (books, pamphlets, government publications, maps, technical reports, periodicals).Database Type: Bibliographic Database
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
-
UCTD
Bibliographic records of theses and dissertations (doctoral and master’s level) submitted to South African universities since 1918.Database Type: Bibliographic Database
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
-
Navtech
Information on current and completed research undertaken in what used to be South Africa’s technikonsDatabase Type: Bibliographic Database
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
-
Current and Completed Research
South African research projects undertaken at South African academic institutions in the fields of economics, science and the humanities. Includes master’s and doctoral theses and research works from the government, non-government and private sectors (1919-2014)Database Type: Bibliographic Database
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Access to 400 journals published by SAGE Publications in the areas of communication studies, criminology, education, health sciences, management and organization studies, materials science, political science, psychology, sociology and urban studies & planning
Database Type: Full-Text | Publisher Database: SAGE Publishing
Content Type: Journal Articles | Abstracts and Indexing
List of Products:
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: Selected Full-text: 1999 - Current
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: This database contains cross-disciplinary research methods tool. It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, sample datasets and videos about designing and conducting a research project, specific research methods, performing a literature review and writing about research results
Database Type: Full-Text | Aggregator: SAGE Publishing
Content Type: E-Books | Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Journal Articles
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary | Coverage: Over 200,000 pages of book, journal and reference content from SAGE authors
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Please register on-campus with TUT domain e-mail address.
Database Type: Bibliographic | Publisher Database: Chemical Abstract Service
Content Type: Chemical Structures | Abstracts and Indexing | Links to Full-text
Subject Areas: Chemistry | Coverage: 1907 to date, plus over 44,000 records for journal articles dated before 1907
New users should create a SciFinder Account with a TUT domain e-mail address:
New Registration On-campus | New Registration Off-campus
If already have a SciFinder Account: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: ScienceDirect provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research. It hosts over 12 million pieces of content from 3,500 academic journals and 34,000 e-books.
Database Type: Aggregator | Publisher Database: Elsevier
Content Type: Electronic Books | Reference Works | Journal Articles
Subject Areas: Sciences | Multi-Disciplinary | Coverage: Collection
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: SciVal is an analytical tool that provides research data to make evidence-based strategic decisions. The data is derived from Scopus and ScienceDirect, and covers more than 30 million publications from 1996 through the present. It can be useful for comparing research, analyzing trends, creating benchmarking reports and visualizations, or finding experts in a specific area
Access: Instutional Access Everywhere
Description: Scopus is Elsevier’s abstract and citation database launched in 2004. Scopus covers nearly 36,377 titles from approximately 11,678 publishers, of which 34,346 are peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields
Database Type: Aggregator | Publisher Database: Elsevier
Content Type: Journal Articles | Abstracts and Indexing
Subject Areas: Life Sciences | Social Sciences | Physical Sciences | Health Sciences | Coverage: 2004 - Current
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,000 books online
Database Type: Full-Text | Publisher Database: Springer
Content Type: Journals Articles | Books | Series | Protocols | Reference Works & Proceedings.
Subject Areas: Multi-Disciplinary | Coverage: 1997 - Current
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: SPORTDiscus is an international database containing information in the areas of sport, health, physical education, fitness and sports medicine. This database provides access to more than 700,000 articles and references, of which many are available in full text.
Database Type: Aggregator - EBSCOhost
Content Type: Full-Text | Journal Articles
Subject Areas: Sports Psychology | Medicine | Physiology | Physical Education | Nutrition | Coverage: Dating back to 1985 - Current.
Books have been catalogued and is searchable via the TUT LIS catalogue
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Taylor &Francis content spans all areas of Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology and contains over 1600 journal titles, aimed at supporting researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide.
Database Type: Full-Text | Electronic Book Collection | Electronic Journal Collection
Content Type: Book Chapters | Books | Journal Articles
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary | Coverage: Open Access
Electronic Books have been catalogued and can be searched via the TUT LIS catalogue
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), later maintained by Clarivate Analytics, that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.
List of Products
- Science Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts &Humanities Citation Index
Database Type: Citation Index | Publisher Database: Clarivate
Content Type: Citation Database | Bibliographic Database
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary | Coverage: 1900 to Present
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary | Coverage: 1997- Present
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus: Browser compatilibilty Issue: Please use Mozilla FireFox!
Description: Journal Citation Reports includes citation information from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Journal Citation Reports includes topics in the fields of science, technology, and social sciences
Database Type: Citation Database | Publisher Database: Clarivate
Content Type: Journal Titles | Reports on journal performance and impact factors
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary | Research | Coverage: 1997- Present
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Training can be arranged on request
Description: Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases
List of Products
- Wiley Online Journals
- Wiley eBooks
- Encyclopedia of Life Science
Database Type: Platform | Publisher Database: John Wiley &Sons
Content Type: Journal Titles | Reports on journal performance and impact factors
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
Description: A comprehensive reference work most suitable for university libraries as well as technical institutes, industrial R&D departments and national and key laboratories. It is written for researchers, graduate students and engineers working in materials science, the energy transition, chemistry and chemical engineering.
Database Type: Platform | Publisher Database: World Scientific Publishing
Content Type: Journal Titles | Handbook of Porous Materials
Subject Areas: chemistry | Chemical Engineering | Material science | Coverage: Vol 1 - Vol 4
Access: On-Campus | Off-Campus
.png)